Google Looks at Purchasing Habits of Smartphone Users

Source: http://www.webpronews.com/smartphone-users-google-study-2011-06

Google released some interesting stats this week about the purchasing habits of smartphone users, or more specifically, smartphone searchers. This is in the US only, but the study looks at how smartphones are used on a daily basis, how people are multitasking, the typical searches made from smartphones, how users are using devices to help make their purchase decisions, and whether or not they’re receptive to mobile ads.

This is all good stuff to keep in mind for any business, as the world grows more mobile, and more connected.

“Nearly 9 out [of] 10 smartphone owners use their devices throughout the day for a variety of activities ranging from using search engines to find information, to watching videos,” says Selina Rennie of Google’s Agency Team. “They have become so entrenched in our lives that 43% of smartphone owners say that they would prefer to give up beer instead of internet access on their smartphone.”

“Unsurprisingly, using the smartphone is an incredibly popular time-killer with nearly 60% claiming to use their smartphones while waiting, for example, in a queue at a supermarket or for a bus,” adds Rennie. “Smartphone users are also becoming increasingly reliant on their devices for shopping assistance with 70% of smartphone consumers using their devices while shopping in-store.”

Here’s a look at where smartphones are being used:

http://seoph2.cafe24.com/wordpress/

It’s also worth noting what consumers are doing while they’re using their smartphones, whether that be while consuming other media or doing other things in general:

http://seoph2.cafe24.com/wordpress/

http://seoph2.cafe24.com/wordpress/

The study suggests that 82% notice ads on their smartphones, and half of them take action. “However, it is not only mobile ads prompting action,” notes Rennie. “Mobile search is often prompted by cross media exposure. Over two thirds of smartphone owners have carried out a search on their smartphone as a result of traditional media.”

A few other points of note (as determined by the study):

– Search is the most visited site from smartphones at 77% compared to 65% for social networking sites and 46% for retail sites.

– Mobile searchers want their information “quick and convenient”.

– The most common types of info users are looking for using search engines on smartphones are:

1. News (57%)
2. Dining/restaurant information (51%)
3. Navigational (51%)
4. Entertainment (49%)
5. Shopping (47%)

In case you’ve at all doubted the significance of mobile to local business, consider that 95% of smartphone users have looked for local information, according to the study. Out of the local information seekers, 77% have contacted a business by either calling or visiting, and 44% have purchased either online or at a physical store. Nearly all of them take action within a day.

Please visit: SEO Blog

About SEO Updates
I'm an SEO :)

31 Responses to Google Looks at Purchasing Habits of Smartphone Users

  1. Pingback: "full article"

  2. Pingback: roliga amsterdam

  3. http://www.ggdao.net/reviews/high-performance-academy-bonus-high-performance-academy-review/ Are You Buying Brendon Burchard High Performance Academy? Don’t Buy It Without Brendon Burchard High Performance Academy Bonus.

  4. Aubrey says:

    Only wanna comment on few general things, The website pattern is perfect, the subject matter is really good. “Art for art’s sake makes no more sense than gin for gin’s sake.” by W. Somerset Maugham.

  5. Aidan Booth will be releasing his latest product which is called Authority Hybrid. read The Authority Hybrid reviews

  6. I run a similar set of websites

  7. I really appreciate this post. I have been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thanks again! “One never goes so far as when one doesn’t know where one is going.” by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe.

  8. This is getting a bit more subjective, but I much prefer the Zune Marketplace. The interface is colorful, has more flair, and some cool features like ‘Mixview’ that let you quickly see related albums, songs, or other users related to what you’re listening to. Clicking on one of those will center on that item, and another set of “neighbors” will come into view, allowing you to navigate around exploring by similar artists, songs, or users. Speaking of users, the Zune “Social” is also great fun, letting you find others with shared tastes and becoming friends with them. You then can listen to a playlist created based on an amalgamation of what all your friends are listening to, which is also enjoyable. Those concerned with privacy will be relieved to know you can prevent the public from seeing your personal listening habits if you so choose.

  9. BILLY ZENGA says:

    Can hardly wait to see you in April in Louisville,Ky.Counting the days.

  10. Keep up the superb work, I read few blog posts on this site and I think that your weblog is very interesting and has lots of good information.

  11. Thanks, its an amazing information of sharing and making people understand about the activities which have been being carried out.I think I will find more useful information here, thanks.

  12. Jouet fille says:

    There may be noticeably a bundle to learn about this. I assume you made sure nice points in options also.

  13. Jillian says:

    Absolutely indited written content, Really enjoyed looking at.

  14. Charlotte says:

    I believe this web site has got very wonderful pent articles content.

  15. It’s laborious to seek out knowledgeable folks on this subject, but you sound like you recognize what you’re speaking about! Thanks

  16. A formidable share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a bit of analysis on this. And he actually purchased me breakfast as a result of I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If attainable, as you turn out to be expertise, would you thoughts updating your weblog with more particulars? It is highly helpful for me. Large thumb up for this weblog publish!

  17. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read something like this before. So nice to search out anyone with some authentic thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this website is something that is wanted on the internet, someone with somewhat originality. useful job for bringing something new to the web!

  18. I’m impressed, I need to say. Actually not often do I encounter a weblog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you have hit the nail on the head. Your concept is excellent; the problem is something that not enough persons are talking intelligently about. I am very joyful that I stumbled across this in my seek for something regarding this.

  19. I discovered your weblog web site on google and test a couple of of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the very good operate. I simply additional up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Searching for forward to reading more from you later on!…

  20. It’s exhausting to search out educated folks on this topic, but you sound like you understand what you’re speaking about! Thanks

  21. I’m often to blogging and i actually recognize your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your web site and maintain checking for brand spanking new information.

  22. Can I simply say what a relief to search out someone who really is aware of what theyre talking about on the internet. You positively know how you can deliver a difficulty to mild and make it important. More people need to read this and perceive this side of the story. I cant imagine youre not more fashionable since you undoubtedly have the gift.

  23. WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..extra wait .. …

  24. Once I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new feedback are added- checkbox and now every time a remark is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any method you possibly can take away me from that service? Thanks!

  25. You made some decent points there. I appeared on the internet for the problem and located most individuals will go along with along with your website.

  26. An interesting dialogue is worth comment. I believe that you must write more on this subject, it may not be a taboo subject however generally people are not sufficient to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  27. Daniel lew says:

    The following time I read a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as a lot as this one. I imply, I know it was my option to learn, but I truly thought youd have one thing fascinating to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about one thing that you may fix should you werent too busy searching for attention.

Leave a Reply

