Simple Answers: Are Facebook Likes Part of Google’s Algorithm?

Source: http://www.searchenginejournal.com/simple-answers-are-facebook-likes-part-of-googles-algorithm/30594/

http://seoph2.cafe24.com/wordpress

The QUESTION: Google has been open about using social data as a metric in the search ranking, but the company has only partnered effectively with a few social networks (and most notably Twitter). Facebook and Google have yet to partner up. But does Google still use Facebook likes and shares as a search ranking metric?

The ANSWER: No, although there may be some indirect influence.

A lot of initial data showed that sites being shared on Facebook were more likely to rank well on Google. As those studies have been examined, though, it seems that there’s just a correlation in content pupularity; if people like it on Facebook, they’re also likely to spread it elsewhere, thus making it rank higher.

Google’s Matt Cutts said very clearly and specifically that the company doesn’t crawl Facebook wall pages, where the massivemajority of the linking happens. To confirm this, several groups, including SEOMoz, did testing to see if content shared only on Facebook would get indexed. Cutts’s words held true, with Google remaining peacefully oblivious of the shared link.

It’s possible that certain services that do crawl the Facebook pages, aggregating links or compiling the most popular pages, areindexed in Google – meaning that Google indirectly gets insights into Facebook. But it’s a “friend of a friend” situation, with Facebook never interacting – as a metric or data provider – for Google.

While it’s possible that things will change, especially if Google secures a partnership with Facebook, there is no current indication that Facebook likes have a direct impact in Google search engine ranking.

Please visit: SEO Blog

About SEO Updates
I'm an SEO :)

31 Responses to Simple Answers: Are Facebook Likes Part of Google’s Algorithm?

  1. Fay Mcdugle says:

    This is especially important when wiping out on a surfboard or being knocked out by a wave. Many surfers appreciate the side pocket on their shorts, that way they can carry important items while in the water, such as a key. Surfers cover surfboards with a layer of sticky wax, this wax allows a surfer to comfortably stand on a surfboard without the fear of losing grip. Surf wax can become a hazard if a surfers legs are not properly covered. The length of these shorts is based off of fashion. Many guys prefer wearing their beach shorts low enough that their butt shows. Boardshorts It is important to have board shorts tightly fastened incase of an accident in the water. One of the most convenient things on swim shorts is the pocket. This pocket is used to carry a key while out in the water. Unlike speedos or shorts for land, shorts are long and baggy. Surfers cover surfboards with a layer of sticky wax, this wax allows a surfer to comfortably stand on a surfboard without the fear of losing grip. Though made for functionality, the design of beach shorts is known to change more often based on the latest trends in popular clothing style. Board short lengths range from mid thigh to below the knee. Many guys prefer wearing their beach shorts low enough that their butt shows. A persons fashion can be critiqued depending on their choice of swimwear.

  2. Everyone says you can’t move a primary Tumlbr blog without deleting the account, except what about a minor blog? I have two financial records, one that I employ and one that I presently ongoing. I don’t use the primary blog on the elderly one, excluding I perform utilize a inferior blog on the identical explanation. Is there some method I can budge that minor blog to my new description as a inferior blog as well? . Thanks!.

  3. Luigi Fulk says:

    Valuable information. Lucky me I found your site by accident, and I’m shocked why this accident did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

  4. Issac Maez says:

    Sorry for the huge review, but I’m really loving the new Zune, and hope this, as well as the excellent reviews some other people have written, will help you decide if it’s the right choice for you.

  5. I just want to say I am beginner to weblog and truly loved you’re web page. Very likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You actually come with perfect writings. Kudos for sharing with us your website.

  6. Brendon Burchard’s High Performance Academy REVIEW & High Performance Academy BONUS: $$$ GET 25% BACK $$$. Don’t miss this …http://www.ggdao.net/reviews/high-performance-academy-bonus-high-performance-academy-review/

  7. Apple now has Rhapsody as an app, which is a great start, but it is currently hampered by the inability to store locally on your iPod, and has a dismal 64kbps bit rate. If this changes, then it will somewhat negate this advantage for the Zune, but the 10 songs per month will still be a big plus in Zune Pass’ favor.

  8. I’ll gear this review to 2 types of people: current Zune owners who are considering an upgrade, and people trying to decide between a Zune and an iPod. (There are other players worth considering out there, like the Sony Walkman X, but I hope this gives you enough info to make an informed decision of the Zune vs players other than the iPod line as well.)

  9. The Zune concentrates on being a Portable Media Player. Not a web browser. Not a game machine. Maybe in the future it’ll do even better in those areas, but for now it’s a fantastic way to organize and listen to your music and videos, and is without peer in that regard. The iPod’s strengths are its web browsing and apps. If those sound more compelling, perhaps it is your best choice.

  10. Sydney says:

    I was looking at some of your content on this website and I think this web site is very instructive! Continue putting up.

  11. jason johny says:

    Aidan Booth will be releasing his latest product which is called Authority Hybrid. read The Authority Hybrid reviews

  12. If you’re still on the fence: grab your favorite earphones, head down to a Best Buy and ask to plug them into a Zune then an iPod and see which one sounds better to you, and which interface makes you smile more. Then you’ll know which is right for you.

  13. Between me and my husband we’ve owned more MP3 players over the years than I can count, including Sansas, iRivers, iPods (classic & touch), the Ibiza Rhapsody, etc. But, the last few years I’ve settled down to one line of players. Why? Because I was happy to discover how well-designed and fun to use the underappreciated (and widely mocked) Zunes are.

  14. I’ll gear this review to 2 types of people: current Zune owners who are considering an upgrade, and people trying to decide between a Zune and an iPod. (There are other players worth considering out there, like the Sony Walkman X, but I hope this gives you enough info to make an informed decision of the Zune vs players other than the iPod line as well.)

  15. Between me and my husband we’ve owned more MP3 players over the years than I can count, including Sansas, iRivers, iPods (classic & touch), the Ibiza Rhapsody, etc. But, the last few years I’ve settled down to one line of players. Why? Because I was happy to discover how well-designed and fun to use the underappreciated (and widely mocked) Zunes are.

  16. This is getting a bit more subjective, but I much prefer the Zune Marketplace. The interface is colorful, has more flair, and some cool features like ‘Mixview’ that let you quickly see related albums, songs, or other users related to what you’re listening to. Clicking on one of those will center on that item, and another set of “neighbors” will come into view, allowing you to navigate around exploring by similar artists, songs, or users. Speaking of users, the Zune “Social” is also great fun, letting you find others with shared tastes and becoming friends with them. You then can listen to a playlist created based on an amalgamation of what all your friends are listening to, which is also enjoyable. Those concerned with privacy will be relieved to know you can prevent the public from seeing your personal listening habits if you so choose.

  17. Apple now has Rhapsody as an app, which is a great start, but it is currently hampered by the inability to store locally on your iPod, and has a dismal 64kbps bit rate. If this changes, then it will somewhat negate this advantage for the Zune, but the 10 songs per month will still be a big plus in Zune Pass’ favor.

  18. Autumn says:

    Hey, you used to write fantastic, but the last several posts have been kinda boring… I miss your tremendous writings. Past few posts are just a little out of track! come on!

  19. I’ll gear this review to 2 types of people: current Zune owners who are considering an upgrade, and people trying to decide between a Zune and an iPod. (There are other players worth considering out there, like the Sony Walkman X, but I hope this gives you enough info to make an informed decision of the Zune vs players other than the iPod line as well.)

  20. I’ve added this blog to my Blogroll, it will definitely be very helpful for my Blog, keep up the good and informative article

  21. I run a similar set of websites

  22. I want to learn the bodhran but do not know where to buy one. I have enough cash to get a decent one, but I dont know what style or manufacturer. Could you give me some insight on tuneable or not (probably tunable), diameter, cross bar, single bar or none. Any thoughts for purchasing one in the USA?

  23. Thank you, Pastor Steve, for reinforcing in me what I knew to be true when my husband of 8 years divorced me in the midst of my first go-round with dialysis and in waiting for a kidney transplant. I was abandoned at age 30.

  24. Hiya, I am really glad I have found this info. Nowadays bloggers publish just about gossip and net stuff and this is actually irritating. A good site with interesting content, this is what I need. Thank you for making this web site, and http://url.org/bookmarks/felipevalenz940 I will be visiting again. Do you do newsletters? I Can’t find it.

  25. Very useful info. Hope to see extra posts soon!

  26. I am not sure where you’re getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for excellent information I was looking for this info for my mission.

  27. Brianna says:

    I simply couldn’t depart your website prior to suggesting that I extremely loved the standard information an individual provide for your guests? Is going to be again ceaselessly in order to investigate cross-check new posts.

  28. Victoria says:

    I view something truly interesting about your blog so I saved to fav.

  29. Hi friend Thank you for expressing this informative article with us. Typically i really don\’t reply to Websites. However such as this one. If only much more articles and also information on the internet can be as much as valuable plus useful compared to that one. Fantastic write-up, thank you Sincerely.

Leave a Reply

