Redefining “SEO Copywriting”

Source: http://www.seoptimise.com/blog/2011/10/redefining-%E2%80%9Cseo-copywriting%E2%80%9D.html

http://seoph2.cafe24.com/wordpress/

Here at SEOptimise we’ve been thinking a lot about copywriting recently. More than usual, that is! As the person responsible for overseeing copywriting at SEOptimise, I thought I’d share a few thoughts on the frankly quite lamentable state of what has become known as “SEO copywriting”.

Any copywriter worth their salt will doubtless share my opinion that so-called “SEO copywriting” gives the world of copywriting a bad name. Despite using the name “copywriting”, it couldn’t be further from this highly skilled profession. As we all know, this lesser species of copywriting has evolved because once upon a time, it was considered acceptable to throw together a quick article on “the secret to cheap international calls” or whatever, and submit it to a dozen or so article directories for a few quick links. But Google quite rightly recognised that that kind of rubbish was not remotely helpful to its users, and has been banging on about high-quality content with renewed vigour ever since.

In the light of the Panda update we made the conscious decision, as an agency, that the content we produce for our clients during the course of routine link building activities would have to take a big step up from the typical article directory fodder which has unfortunately come to be associated with the SEO world. Moving away from devalued article directories, it becomes necessary to intensify link building efforts in other areas; guest blogging is one area which immediately springs to mind, and one in which we have been met with considerable success for most of, if not all, our clients. But for this strategy to be successful, and to gain good links from high-authority blogs which have a high readership, it’s necessary to produce decent pieces of writing that bloggers will actually want to feature.

It’s just a shame that a lot of professional copywriting services seem to be stuck in the past when it comes to churning out the kind of copy regularly to be seen gracing the spammier article directories. Haven’t they heard of the Panda update? Don’t they realise that this sort of crappy copy doesn’t cut it anymore? In the past, we’ve been through a string of copywriting services and the blog posts we’ve had written have been very much of the article directory ilk – ill-thought-out, boring and, I might add, riddled with typos and fundamental grammatical errors. If you’ve read my previous posts or if youfollow me on Twitter, you may remember that I take a dim view of poor grammar, so you can imagine my reaction to finding it in the work of professional copywriters. I also recently completed a Diploma in Copywriting, and the course material for that wasn’t much better. A woeful state of affairs!

At SEOptimise our rationale is that investing more in copywriting ultimately pays dividends. An interesting, insightful piece of writing that takes an original look at a topic will quite simply do far better for your SEO efforts than the sort of lazily spun “how to” articles churned out by “content generation” companies. Not only will you have far greater success in publishing the work on decent sites, but you’ll also find that it’s far more likely to be shared in the social media networks and you’ll reach a much bigger audience. And more exposure means more links! To use a buzzword that I’m not altogether fond of (I don’t like buzzwords either), it’s pretty much a win-win situation!

So I would argue that it’s time for a rethink of how we – the SEO community – view copywriting. Rather than thinking of it as “SEO copywriting” or “content generation”, our focus needs almost to shift back to a more traditional, journalistic approach to writing, with the emphasis on tackling new subjects, providing readers with meaningful insights and embracing the limitless possibilities of the English language beyond the narrow confines of article directory spam.

And on that note, if you’d like to write full time for SEOptimise, we’re currently expanding our copywriting team:  check out our copywriter job vacancy for more details.

Please visit: SEO Blog

About SEO Updates
I'm an SEO :)

79 Responses to Redefining “SEO Copywriting”

  1. Cloud Control Trader review and bonus – What you need to know about Cloud Control Trader. Read this before you buy! http://tandaa.com/reviewbonus/cloud-control-trader-bonus-cloud-control-trader-review.html

  2. james j says:

    Aidan Booth will be releasing his latest product which is called Authority Hybrid. read The Authority Hybrid reviews

  3. Any body knows about make market launch it??

  4. Amen brother! Maranatha

  5. SEO says:

    Well written write-up, please keep it up !!

  6. make money says:

    I’ve been browsing on-line more than 3 hours lately, but I never found any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is lovely value enough for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made just right content material as you probably did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  7. I have been absent for a while, but now I remember why I used to love this web site. Thank you, I?ll try and check back more often. How frequently you update your website?

  8. I was reading the news and I saw this really interesting info

  9. I believe one of your ads triggered my browser to resize, you might want to put that on your blacklist.

  10. Wow, this piece of writing is pleasant, my younger sister is analyzing such things, therefore I am going to let know her.

  11. AKO Login says:

    It seems too complex and extremely wide for me. I’m having a look ahead to your next submit, I will try to get the hold of it!

  12. Enjoyed reading this, very good stuff, thanks .

  13. thank you for such a fantastic site. Where else could anyone get that kind of information written in such a perfect way? I have a presentation that I am presently working on, and I have been on the look out for such information.

  14. You must participate in a contest for the most effective blogs on the web. IЎЇll suggest this website!

  15. bouwdroger says:

    One of the moreimpressive blogs I’ve read. Thanks so much for keeping the internet classy for a change. You’ve got bravado. I mean it. Please keep it up because without thenet is definitely lacking in intelligence.

  16. I really appreciate this post. I have been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thanks again! “One never goes so far as when one doesn’t know where one is going.” by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe.

  17. I have been examinating out many of your posts and i can state pretty good stuff. I will make sure to bookmark your site.

  18. M9gzkt im a daily commenter

  19. I’m not sure about you but I generally get somewhat delighted once I locate a blog that informs me what I would like to know, and this particular one really does.

  20. Ada Staie says:

    The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read, but I actually thought youd have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you could fix if you werent too busy looking for attention.
    _______________
    Online Income Tips
    Free Apple Product

  21. Wow! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a completely different topic but it has pretty much the same layout and design. Excellent choice of colors!

  22. Onion says:

    been categorically involving themselves in Network help that being a sub division of

  23. Fife Holiday says:

    I feel enlightened, much like when I read the words, “No matter what you believe it doesn’t change the facts..”.

  24. The following time I learn a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I imply, I do know it was my option to read, however I really thought youd have one thing attention-grabbing to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about one thing that you might fix in case you werent too busy in search of attention.

  25. There couple of fascinating points over time here but I don’t know if them all center to heart. You can find some validity but I am going to take hold opinion until I take a look at it further. Very good post , thanks and we want far more! Included with FeedBurner also

  26. ehternet cables are still the ones that i use for my home networking applications::

  27. whoah this blog is wonderful i love reading your articles. Maintain up the superior paintings! You realize, lots of consumers are looking round for this information, you can aid them greatly.

  28. some hair straighteners that use chemicals are very harsh to the hair, that is why you should be careful with those.,

  29. Your blogposts are always so impressive and especially inspiring. Thank you a great deal for finding the time to help encourage others!

  30. You must participate in a contest for probably the greatest blogs on the web. I will recommend this web site!

  31. Bucketball says:

    I was reading the news and I saw this really cool topic

  32. Thanks for another informative post. Where else could anyone get that kind of info in such a easy to understand way of presentation.

  33. Wow! This can be one particular of the most beneficial blogs We’ve ever arrive across on this subject. Basically Magnificent. I am also an expert in this topic therefore I can understand your effort.

  34. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  35. feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will share this blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  36. Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thanks However I am experiencing issue with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting an identical rss downside? Anybody who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

  37. Kevin Hori says:

    I am so grateful for your article.Really thank you! Fantastic.

  38. Hiya, I’m really glad I have found this info. Nowadays bloggers publish only about gossips and net and this is really irritating. A good site with interesting content, this is what I need. Thanks for keeping this website, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can not find it.

  39. Good post. I be taught something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It would all the time be stimulating to learn content from other writers and apply a little one thing from their store. I’d prefer to make use of some with the content material on my weblog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link in your net blog. Thanks for sharing.

  40. Many thanks for posting this, It?s simply what I was researching for on bing. I?d a lot relatively hear opinions from a person, barely than a company internet web page, that?s why I like blogs so significantly. Many thanks!

  41. Forex Trading System says:

    You should take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I will recommend this site!I’m the developer of a Forex Trading System

  42. Truly insightful bless you, It looks like your trusty subscribers could perhaps want significantly more blog posts along these lines carry on the outstanding hard work.

  43. Lovely just what I was searching for.Thanks to the author for taking his time on this one.

  44. So I started thinking it’d be interesting to see which of two tied teams fared better towards the end of the season, with the idea that it’d be more indicative of their current strength. That seems problematical though since strength of schedule could change radically when you start weighting games or dropping early games.But then I realized I have no idea whether my assumption that teams that finish the regular season strong do better in the playoffs is true. I’m sure somebody has studied it, but I don’t recall ever reading anything about it. It’d be interesting to see whether a stronger/weaker SOS at the end of a season has any significance too.

  45. Many thanks for posting this, It’s just what I used to be researching for on bing. I’d rather a lot comparatively hear opinions from an individual, barely than a company web page, that’s why I like blogs so significantly. Many thanks!

  46. WadeNolan says:

    It’s best to take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. i’ll recommend this site!

  47. What I learn about God from Psalm 46:1-3: He is safe, He is strong (stronger than earthquakes and tsunamis), and He is always present.

  48. Who was it that once said, “One should count each day a separate life..”.

  49. What are you indicating, man? I know everyones got their own viewpoint, but really? Listen, your website is interesting. I like the work you put into it, specially with the vids and the pics. But, come on. Theres gotta be a better way to say this, a way that doesnt make it seem like everybody here is stupid!

  50. As I website possessor I conceive the subject material here is rattling great , appreciate it for your efforts.

  51. Pingback: Entertainment

  52. Jouet garcon says:

    When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a remark is added I get four emails with the identical comment. Is there any method you may remove me from that service? Thanks!

  53. Pingback: Kissmat

  54. Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too excellent. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it wise. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is really a great website.

  55. I was looking through some of your content on this internet site and I conceive this internet site is really instructive! Keep posting .

  56. herbalife says:

    Really fantastic information can be found on web blog.

  57. Pingback: women

  58. Pingback: Desarto Araba Yarisi

  59. It was nice to read your post. Thank you for posting this piece!

  60. Pingback: Insidia

  61. Your place is valueble for me. Thanks!…

  62. click here says:

    Hiya intelligent points.. now why didn’t i think of those? Off topic barely, is that this web page pattern merely from an atypical set up or else do you utilize a customized template. I use a webpage i’m searching for to improve and well the visuals is likely one of the key things to finish on my list.

  63. Wonderful work! That is the kind of information that should be shared across the web. Shame on the seek engines for not positioning this publish upper! Come on over and seek advice from my site . Thank you =)

  64. Pingback: paper white bulbs

  65. vuqhsrrpr says:

    rfiyQR pnmuozqovdjz, [url=http://xukkcnxpnxiy.com/]xukkcnxpnxiy[/url], [link=http://kktvvyevxrvi.com/]kktvvyevxrvi[/link], http://sbxooepwbalh.com/

  66. Hello. Initial I want to say that I truly like your weblog, just found it the past week but I have been reading it increasingly since then.I seem to come to an agreement with most of the thoughts and opinions and this submit is no exception. absolutely agree with you. Thank you for any fantastic blog and I hope you hold up the excellent work. If you do I will keep on to look over it.

  67. Pingback: settees

  68. Pingback: sink faucets

  69. Hello there, I found your web site via Google even as looking for a related subject, your site came up, it appears great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  70. Pingback: car finance bad credit

  71. I simply declare you put together quite a few superb points and I will submit a variety of recommendations to add in soon.

  72. you’ve an amazing weblog right here! would you like to make some invite posts on my blog?

  73. It was nice to read your post. Thank you for posting this piece!

  74. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  75. It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you few interesting things or suggestions. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I want to read more things about it!

  76. Hello Webmaster, I noticed that https://latestseoupdates.wordpress.com/2011/10/24/redefining-%E2%80%9Cseo-copywriting%E2%80%9D/ is ranking pretty low for some keywords, this may be due to the new Google Panda update, or it could be due to a variety of other factors. I’m sure you already know about On-page SEO, where Google cares highly about proper formatting of various H1/H2/H3 tags, having your main keyword appear in the beginning of your post and having your post end with the keyword, along with having keyword related alt tags and very relevant LSI. However, you do not seem to have the proper Keywords or relevant Keywords in your posts and in the website. Right now you need a tool or plugin that will allow you to check on Keyword insights, search trends and check for backlink analysis and to find out your Keyword competition. To find a Keyword Plugin that combines both Keyword Research and has the ability as a Rank Checker is what WordPress Seo Keyword, please check out our 5 minute video.

Leave a Reply

