Yahoo Deletes 75,000 Associated Content Articles, Moves Rest To New Yahoo Voices Site

Yahoo is cleaning up Associated Content by deleting some of the articles, moving the keepers to Yahoo’s domain and giving the site a new name, too. And next year, Yahoo will begin an online training course to help its writers create higher quality content.

The company has announced plans to “retire” more than 75,000 Associated Content articles, keep only “the best content submitted over the last seven years,” and move it all to a new site,Yahoo! Voices (www.voices.yahoo.com). In the process, Yahoo has also introduced new submission guidelines for its army of writers.

Associated Content Hit By Panda

Yahoo bought Associated Content in May 2010, a site that — at the time — was creating about 10,000 new pieces of content per week. That was, of course, before Google’s “Panda” algorithm update targeted content farms in early 2011.

Speaking at our SMX West conference just a couple of weeks after Panda, Yahoo VP Luke Beatty (who founded Associated Content) said that two-thirds of Associated Content’s articleshad suffered sizable declines in Google traffic, while the other one-third was getting more Google traffic.

Likewise, when the search industry tried to sort out Panda’s winners and losers, Associated Content was listed regularly on the losing side.

Yahoo Voices: Post-Panda

yahoo-voices

We haven’t asked Yahoo if today’s announcement is a direct reaction to the Panda update, and it’s unlikely they’d admit to it, but you don’t have to read too deep between the lines to see how it is.

For starters, Yahoo is retiring a domain (associatedcontent.com) that was hit hard by Google’s update and moving the content to yahoo.com, a more trusted domain. It’s ditching the entire Associated Content name and calling the new site Yahoo! Voices.

Yahoo has also eliminated some Associated Content, as explained in today’s announcement:

We have retired more than 75,000 pieces of inactive and outdated content from Associated Content. None of this content will appear on Yahoo! Voices, and only content that meets our revised Submission Guidelines will be accepted moving forward. Older content that does not meet these standards will be gradually retired or returned to the original author for editing.

To be fair, those 75,000 articles are a small drop in Yahoo’s bucket. Earlier in the announcement, Yahoo says that Voices will have “more than two million pieces of original content.” So, depending on the exact numbers, Yahoo is zapping only about 4% of Associated Content’s material. Still, removing low-quality and under-performing content has consistently been one of the most common SEO recommendations for Panda-hit sites.

Even the new guidelines appear to go out of the way to teach SEO basics to Yahoo’s writers. Here’s a sample:

  • Don’t rehash. You must provide a fresh and unique angle on every story.
  • Don’t stuff your content with keywords. We encourage you to optimize your content for search-engine discovery, but not at the expense of readability.
  • Don’t over-link. We encourage relevant links that make your content more valuable and informative. Avoid excessive hyperlinking that compromises readability.

I’m unable to find out how the new guidelines compare to the old. The previous Yahoo Contributor Network guidelines page (contributor.yahoo.com/community/guidelines) is gone and the URL redirects to the new page. It also doesn’t seem to be available via any cache searches.

Yahoo’s focus on quality is also evident in one other way: Early next year, Yahoo will launch Yahoo! Contributor Academy, an “interactive learning program” with lessons and tools to help its writers create “useful, engaging online content.”

Source: http://searchengineland.com/yahoo-deletes-75000-associated-content-articles-moves-rest-to-yahoo-voices-103376

About SEO Updates
I'm an SEO :)

99 Responses to Yahoo Deletes 75,000 Associated Content Articles, Moves Rest To New Yahoo Voices Site

  1. What’s up to all, since I am really keen of reading this web
    site’s post to be updated on a regular basis.
    It includes good data.

  2. normich swat says:

    Aidan Booth will be releasing his latest product which is called Authority Hybrid. read The Authority Hybrid reviews

  3. I’ve added this blog to my Blogroll, it will definitely be very helpful for my Blog, keep up the good and informative article

  4. Good article,I like it very much!

  5. HOMER MOLENA says:

    So proud!!! So happy!!! So excited!! Love you mom

  6. Pingback: Solar Landscape Lighting

  7. When I just read a website, I am hoping it doesnt dissatisfy me just as much as this one. What i’m saying is, It has been my choice to go through, yet My spouse and i actually believed youd get something interesting to say. All I notice can be a bunch of whining about something you might repair should you werent as well busy seeking awareness.

  8. Hi there I am so glad I found your blog page, I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Askjeeve for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a tremendous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the superb work.

  9. Only wanna comment on few general things, The website style is perfect, the content material is rattling great : D.

  10. Nice post, really love your blog.

  11. I got what you mean, thanks for putting up. Woh I am glad to gestate this website through google. Thanks For Share Yahoo Deletes 75,000 Associated Content Articles, Moves Rest To New Yahoo Voices Site Latest SEO Updates | SEO News | SEO Trends.

  12. As soon as I came over to this blog post I can only look at part of it, is this my web browser or the internet web site? Should I restart?

  13. I got what you convey, thanks for putting up. Woh I am gladsome to experience this website through google. Thanks For Share Yahoo Deletes 75,000 Associated Content Articles, Moves Rest To New Yahoo Voices Site Latest SEO Updates | SEO News | SEO Trends.

  14. I hope you continue to write because I share your views and I would love to read more of your material. This is awesome information. http://www.samsung1080phdtv.net/

  15. I savour, lead to I discovered just what I used to be looking for. You’ve ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  16. Some truly nice stuff on this site, I like it.

  17. Pingback: Kashi Coupons

  18. Very clear website , thanks for this post.

  19. @MrCjwalker OMG? i remember them games! 😀 they were awesome expecially the fighting and diving in slow motion!

  20. Once I came over to this article I can only see part of it, is this my net web browser or the internet web site? Should I reboot?

  21. iPhone 5 says:

    Hello! I just wish to give an enormous thumbs up for the nice info you have got right here on this post. I will probably be coming again to your blog for more soon.

  22. Pingback: Ipad 2

  23. I have fun with, lead to I discovered exactly what I used to be looking for. You have ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  24. Pingback: Science Printable

  25. You ought to actually think about working on growing this weblog into a significant authority in this market. You evidently have a grasp handle of the matters everyone seems to be looking for on this web site in any case and you could possibly definitely even earn a buck or two off of some advertisements. I’d discover following recent topics and elevating the amount of write ups you place up and I guarantee you’d begin seeing some wonderful targeted visitors within the close to future. Only a thought, good luck in no matter you do!

  26. Pingback: How Can I Get Rid Of Acne Scars

  27. Milo Westrum says:

    Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thank you

  28. profile says:

    I’ve to admit that i generally get bored to learn the whole thing however i feel you may add some value. Bravo !

  29. Just desire to say your article is as astonishing. The clearness to your submit is just nice and i could suppose you are an expert on this subject. Well together with your permission allow me to grasp your RSS feed to stay up to date with impending post. Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

  30. Pingback: How To Get Rid Of Blemishes

  31. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something which I think I would never understandIt seems too complex and very broad for meI am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  32. It’s difficult to find knowledgeable people with this topic, however you seem like there’s more you are referring to! Thanks

  33. Alex says:

    Thanks for taking the time to debate this, I feel strongly about it and love learning more on this topic. If potential, as you gain expertise, would you thoughts updating your blog with additional information? This can be very useful for me.

  34. Thank you for another great post. Where else could anybody get that type of information in such an ideal way of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m on the look for such information.

  35. My husband and i ended up being now thrilled Ervin could round up his preliminary research through the entire ideas he acquired from your web site. It’s not at all simplistic to simply happen to be giving freely hints which most people have been selling. We really already know we have got the blog owner to be grateful to for this. Most of the explanations you have made, the easy web site menu, the friendships your site aid to promote – it’s got most remarkable, and it is facilitating our son in addition to our family know that that subject matter is interesting, which is certainly extraordinarily important. Thank you for all!

  36. Ryan R says:

    I’m still learning from you, but I’m bettering myself. I actually love reading the whole lot that is written on your blog.Maintain the tales coming. I liked it!

  37. I have been examinating away some of your tales and it’s fairly very good things. I will surely bookmark your blog.

  38. Yet another thing is that while looking for a good on the net electronics store, look for web shops that are continually updated, keeping up-to-date with the latest products, the perfect deals, and helpful information on products and services. This will ensure you are handling a shop which stays atop the competition and provide you things to make intelligent, well-informed electronics expenditures. Thanks for the essential tips I’ve learned from the blog.

  39. The original Video where it was shown? was on TED. . look up [David Perry: Will videogames become better than life?]

  40. Good day :)What’s up? :p I see that you are still holding this blog, congrats! Did you had problems with Google during the last update? Just checked your rankings and it seems like you are doing a good job 🙂 If there will be any problems be sure to get back to me, always loved your style Bye-Bye :*

  41. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all people you really recognise what you’re talking approximately! Bookmarked. Please also seek advice from my website =). We may have a hyperlink exchange contract among us!

  42. Definitely imagine that that you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the internet the simplest factor to take into account of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed even as other folks consider concerns that they just do not recognize about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the top and outlined out the entire thing with no need side effect , folks could take a signal. Will likely be again to get more. Thank you

  43. him when he does make an effort to

  44. You should consider starting an email list. It would take your site to its potential.

  45. Would you be eager about exchanging hyperlinks?

  46. I have not checked in here for a while because I thought it was getting boring, but the last several posts are good quality so I guess I will add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

  47. TOMS Coupons says:

    Some truly interesting info , well written and broadly speaking user friendly .

  48. After study a handful of the content in your internet site now, and that i genuinely such as your method of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site list and are checking back soon. Pls look into my site as well and tell me what you believe.

  49. Pingback: Ipad Screen Size

  50. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Really rarely can i encounter a weblog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you could have hit the nail on the head. Your thought is outstanding; the thing is an element that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. My business is very happy which i found this in my find some thing concerning this.

  51. hoodia patch says:

    Wow! This could be one particular of the most helpful blogs We’ve ever arrive across on this subject. Basically Excellent. I’m also an expert in this topic therefore I can understand your effort.

  52. jobs for high school students – Search for Jobs on our website, we provide several good links to the best and biggest Portals to getting a Job as a high school student!

  53. Many thanks for sharing this first-class article. Very inspiring! (as always, btw)

  54. good point, make sense to me, am just wondering why all the comments here are irrelant is that okay with you?

  55. Hi there, Could I copy that snapshot and implement that on my webpage?

  56. I meant to submit you that small word just to say thank you when again for those terrific techniques you have contributed in this case. This is very remarkably generous with you in supplying unreservedly all that numerous people could probably have marketed for an electronic book to generate some dough on their very own, chiefly contemplating that you could probably have tried out it in case you deemed important. People assistance also served to grow to be uncomplicated way to be specific that numerous people have the exact same fervor seriously like my extremely personal to find out way additional in regard to this matter. I know there are many additional satisfying sessions forward for these who scan as a result of your website publish.

  57. Some genuinely wonderful articles on this web site , thankyou for contribution.

  58. I tried to publish a comment earlier, although it hasn’t shown up. I believe your spam filter may be broken?

  59. Howdy! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

  60. It’s good to see this information in your post, i was looking the same but there was not any proper resource, thanx now i have the link which i was looking for my research.

  61. you possess a fantastic blog here! if you’d like to have the invite posts in this little weblog?

  62. Play Black Ops Zombies… […]Call of Duty Black Ops zombie mode has been played by millions of gamers…[…]…

  63. I don’t normally comment but I gotta tell regards for the post on this one : D.

  64. I really like forgathering utile info, this post has got me even more info! .

  65. hey all, I was simply checking out this weblog and I actually admire the basis of the article, and don’t have anything to do, so if anybody want to to have an engrossing convo about it, please contact me on AIM, my title is heather smith

  66. Its good as your other blog posts : D, thanks for posting .

  67. Hiya, I am really glad I’ve found this info. Today bloggers publish only about gossip and net stuff and this is actually irritating. A good site with exciting content, that’s what I need. Thank you for making this site, and I will be visiting again. Do you do newsletters? I Cant find it.

  68. bonus code says:

    Definitely imagine that that you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be at the web the simplest factor to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked whilst folks consider worries that they just don’t recognize about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and outlined out the whole thing without having side-effects , folks can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thank you!

  69. hello there and thanks to your information ? I have definitely picked up anything new from proper here. I did however expertise a few technical issues the use of this website, since I skilled to reload the website lots of times previous to I may just get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Now not that I am complaining, but slow loading circumstances occasions will sometimes affect your placement in google and can injury your quality ranking if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much extra of your respective fascinating content. Make sure you replace this again soon..

  70. 潮流品牌 says:

    Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again taking you feeds also, Thanks.

  71. Hello there, simply turned into alert to your weblog thru Google, and found that it is truly informative. I’m going to be careful for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you happen to continue this in future. Many other folks might be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  72. Today, taking into consideration the fast chosen lifestyle that everyone leads, credit cards have a huge demand throughout the market. Persons coming from every field are using the credit card and people who not using the card have lined up to apply for even one. Thanks for sharing your ideas in credit cards.

  73. bonus code says:

    Rattling wonderful visual appeal on this site, I’d value it 10 10.

  74. bonus code says:

    I dugg some of you post as I thought they were very useful extremely helpful

  75. My husband and i ended up being now delighted Louis managed to finish up his basic research because of the precious recommendations he discovered out of the web site. It’s not at all simplistic just to happen to be making a gift of procedures which people have been selling. Therefore we recognize we need you to appreciate for this. The main illustrations you have made, the simple site menu, the friendships you will help foster – it’s got mostly superb, and it is assisting our son and our family believe that this content is entertaining, which is pretty mandatory. Thanks for the whole thing!

  76. Thank you, I’ve recently been seeking for information about this subject matter for ages and yours is the best I’ve found so far.

  77. I just like the valuable info you supply in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and take a look at again here regularly. I am fairly certain I will be told a lot of new stuff proper here! Best of luck for the next!

  78. It can be tough to write about this topic. I think you did an excellent job though! Thanks for this!

  79. I am totally impressed by the design of your site. Your logo is impressively eye-catching to boot! Great work! 🙂

  80. web traffic says:

    I have been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts in this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this site. Reading this information So i am satisfied to show that I have a very good uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I such a lot no doubt will make sure to don?t forget this site and provides it a glance on a relentless basis.

  81. obviously like your web site however you have to check the spelling on several of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I to find it very bothersome to tell the reality nevertheless I will certainly come back again.

  82. Hi there, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can suggest? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any help is very much appreciated.

  83. You’re truly a excellent webmaster. The website loading speed is amazing. It seems that you are doing any unique trick. In addition, The contents are masterwork. you’ve performed a wonderful process on this subject!

  84. SEO 101 says:

    Learning Information About Jeff Bowler
    Mr. Jeff Bowler is an gent who has been around the block in Hollywood. But not only is he an accomplished television producer but he has been able to make his mark ont he silver screen with hit movies like \”The Grand\” starring both Ray Romano and Woody Harrelson. When he was younger he actually worked with the WWE company and helped turned their franchise into a movie money making machine before all was said and done. That it is how he could show his production smarts.

  85. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

  86. SEO 101 says:

    Learning Exactly About Jeff Bowler
    Mr. Jeff Bowler is an gent who has been around the block in Hollywood. But not only is he an accomplished television producer but he has been able to make his mark ont he silver screen with hit movies like \”The Grand\” starring both Ray Romano and Woody Harrelson. When he was younger he actually worked with the WWE company and helped turned their franchise into a movie income producing machine before all was said and done. It is actually how he surely could show his production smarts.

  87. Cindie Shoop says:

    Aiding you choose the right consumers is what the Tweet Adder coupon code is made to accomplish. Using the promotion code for 20% out of as well as 25% off is extremely simple. You need to use your Tweet Adder voucher, or coupon, and then deploy this software. You will be thankful to acquire only received 20% off as well as 25% off of, and you will be possibly more content once you type your first look for. This software will crank out a directory of readers, and you may see that your Twitter Adder promotion appeared to be truly worth each and every dollar. You can obtain a promotional code pertaining to 20% down or perhaps 25% off on the web. It’s in no way been easy to get a promotional code that gives 20% off or higher to 25% down.

  88. I like the helpful info you provide to your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and test again here regularly. I am rather certain I’ll learn plenty of new stuff proper here! Best of luck for the next!

  89. Before you use the Tweet Adder coupon, it is vital that what happens a promotional code for 20% off of or 25% off of will truly give. That is a system that allows you to work with Facebook better. The actual Twitter Adder coupon is often a bonus code that provides that you simply system that you can use looking for fresh enthusiasts. Obtaining 20% off of or 25% away from can you need to be the beginning. You will be able to implement this course you will get using the Twitter update Adder coupon to seek out fans who seem to care about your own services and goods. Because of this the coupon, jewel to get 20% off or 25% away, is usually a coupon that will link people with individuals who wants to buy things. You will make considerably despite receiving 20% off of or maybe 25% away and therefore saving cash.

  90. Unquestionably consider that which you said. Your favourite reason appeared to be on the internet the easiest thing to take into accout of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people consider issues that they just do not understand about. You managed to hit the nail upon the highest and also defined out the entire thing with no need side-effects , other people could take a signal. Will probably be again to get more. Thank you

  91. seo company says:

    Just desire to say your article is as surprising. The clearness on your submit is just spectacular and that i could assume you are knowledgeable on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to stay updated with imminent post. Thanks a million and please continue the rewarding work.

  92. Just wish to say your article is as amazing. The clearness to your submit is just spectacular and i could suppose you are a professional in this subject. Well with your permission allow me to take hold of your feed to stay up to date with coming near near post. Thanks 1,000,000 and please keep up the gratifying work.

  93. Prior to using some sort of Twitter update Adder token, it is essential that what happens the coupon code for 20% off of or maybe 25% out of will truly deliver. This is a method that allows you to work with Myspace better. The particular Tweet Adder coupon code is actually a discount code which provides that you software that can be used to find fresh followers. Finding 20% off or 25% away from will certainly only be the beginning. It will be possible make use of this system you will get while using the Tweet Adder promotion to uncover followers who seem to cherish the goods and services. Because of this this promotion code, unique to get 20% down or even 25% down, is actually a promotional code which will link an individual with others which buy things. Your family will enjoy lots even after having 20% out of or even 25% away and for that reason saving cash.

  94. wine scam says:

    Thank you for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research on this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more from this post. I am very glad to see such great information being shared freely out there.

Leave a Reply

