Google Search Results Now Includes Google+ Pages

EO service provider BrightEdge Technologies noted on its resourceslast December 20th that Google has started integrating Google+ brand pages to primary search engine results. However, this move was already discovered by Search Engine Land last November. But as of the moment, the recent search engine results integration only occurs to selected brands like AT&T, T-Mobile and Macy’s.

A Google representative offered a statement about the search results: “Content from the +Page, such as recent posts, will appear as annotations attached to its associated web page under the site links in search results if that site is eligible for Direct Connect. It uses the same bi-directional link and algorithmic criteria as Direct Connect.”

The Downside
BrightEdge’s VP for Marketing Brad Mattick also noted that the inclusion of Google+ brand pages in the search results enable marketers to squeeze in some promotional messages. This is deemed by other brands as one way for Google to attract brands to join and be active on its social networking site. As a result, the integration of Google+ Page content to search engine results raised concerns about anti-competitive behavior. Seeing this as an anti-trust move, Herb Kohl of D-Wisc and Mike Lee of R-Utah brought this to the attention of the Federal Trade Commission, urging the authority to investigate on the search engine giant’s search business practices.

Meanwhile, the search engine giant defended that the creation of business pages on Google+ will not influence a brand’s page rank. In addition, Google is always improving its algorithm to provide relevant search results; hence, Google+ Page will be ranked on search engine results just like other social media profiles.

The Argument
There are users who argue that the anti-trust issue is out of the question. Pulling a page content and listing a social profile to search engine results are standard behavior. In fact, a brand’s Facebook Page or Twitter account also appears in search engine results. As for Google+’s case, they are still within their rights since it’s their platform, technology and services.
Moreover, showing a brand’s Google+ Page is one way of informing people of the brand’s “official” business page. Still, it won’t outrank results associated with other social media channels.

Regardless whether the search engine giant is curating the search results, its integration with Google+ Page ends the argument why organizations must also have a business page on Google+.

Source: http://www.pronetadvertising.com/articles/google-search-results-now-includes-google-pages.html

About SEO Updates
I'm an SEO :)

24 Responses to Google Search Results Now Includes Google+ Pages

  1. Andrew Pelt says:

    F*ckin’ awesome things here. I am very glad to see your post. Thanks a lot and i am looking forward to contact you. Will you please drop me a e-mail?

  2. Whats up! I just wish to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you’ve got right here on this post. I will probably be coming back to your blog for extra soon.

  3. I just want to say I’m newbie to blogging and site-building and honestly savored your page. Likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You certainly have perfect article content. Bless you for sharing with us your blog site.

  4. Amazing! just pure amazing!

  5. Warmest wishes for a prosperous New Year. A little more than an hour remains here of 2008, and I hope 2009 brings you unparalleled success, happiness, and contentment in your professional, as well as, personal life. I first saw you here at the Chicago Theater in April of 06. Although I had a ticket that included “meet & greet” after the show, you were not there, only “the girls”. Since then, I’ve gone to four more shows over the years, and hoped to see you, perhaps to get a CD or photo autographed and let you know how much your contribution to Celtic Woman meant to me. You have remained pretty much a mystery. There’s not much of any bio online or links from Celtic Woman. Now, that you have your own website, I can tell you, if not face-to-face, you are one-of-a kind! You have your own, unique style which stirs the soul. Maybe, it’s something primal, but you DO IT and DO IT WELL! All the best to you and yours and see you in Chicago in February.

  6. I love this specific weblog much, saved .

  7. chest acne says:

    I simply wanted to say thanks again. I do not know the things I would’ve followed in the absence of the type of solutions contributed by you over such a subject matter. It was actually an absolute frightening crisis in my circumstances, but taking note of your skilled form you resolved the issue forced me to weep for delight. Now i’m grateful for this service as well as hope that you recognize what a powerful job you are always carrying out teaching other individuals through a web site. I am sure you’ve never met any of us.

  8. i medlab says:

    Thank you for sharing superb informations. Your web-site is so cool. I’m impressed by the details that you have on this blog. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched everywhere and simply couldn’t come across. What a great site.

  9. Great blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your design. Thanks

  10. Mary-Jo says:

    Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  11. Good post. Hopin’ for a sequel! 🙂

  12. Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your website, how could i subscribe for a blog site? The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear ideaI am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays..

  13. Buy Wartrol says:

    I was curious if you ever considered changing the page layout of your blog? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  14. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Very helpful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was seeking this certain information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  15. Did you go to school in Dublin? Your name seems familiar, I just can’t remember from where.

  16. That is the fitting blog for anybody who needs to find out about this topic. You understand so much its virtually exhausting to argue with you (not that I really would need…HaHa). You definitely put a brand new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Great stuff, simply great!

  17. hello there and thank you for your info – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this web site, as I experienced to reload the web site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and could damage your high quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for much more of your respective interesting content. Make sure you update this again soon..

  18. iPhone 6 says:

    Each woman likes to appearance formal and iphone6 needs to parade well-kept hands everyday. Plus the most important part of her hands include the nails. You can now have your nails brightened up with the Apple latest nail designs. For the Steve Jobs right cute nail designs, check us out and iphone 5 allow us to help make your fingers prettier.

  19. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored subject matter stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again since exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.

  20. Weird how I haven’t run across this blog until now. Either way, thanks a lot for writing it!

  21. Very useful post. It was very interesting. I was looking exaxtly for this. Thank you for your effort.

  22. I do have to tell you this really is a fantastic website, fantastic look and it makes a change to see such a well put together webpage.

  23. Pingback: ebwdlxyoe

  24. Just wish to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your post is simply great and i could assume you\\\’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable work. Thanks friend!

Leave a Reply

