Historical Link Analysis is Here!

Season’s Greetings, fellow Mozzers! As if this month hasn’t been exciting enough with the release of Custom Reports and Branded Keywords, today we have a special surprise for you. You asked for it, and we are happy to deliver. Introducing Historical Link Analysis for PRO!


(Photo credit: Dana Pleasant Photography)

Being able to see your link metric data over time helps demonstrate the effectiveness of your link building strategies. And hey, who doesn’t like to see progress? Read on to see how this new feature works.

Subdomain Link Metrics

This update to the Links section is full of lots of little goodies. Not only are we now storing your campaign link metrics over time, but we have also added Subdomain Link Analysis metrics for you and your competitors.

Historical Data Charts

What matters most in viewing historical metrics is how you are faring against your competition. For each metric, you can view historical data over time in comparison to your competitors.  This way you can distinguish between the effects of your hard work to improve your link metrics and fluctuations that affect the entire index.

You can view historical data via the History tab or by using the menu link next to a given metric on the Summary tab. You can also export all historical data to a CSV file.


You may notice that we have made a few additional improvements to the Link Analysis section, including:

  • adding Total External Links to Root Domain Metrics (to align with what is reported in Open Site Explorer)
  • moving Link details to a separate tab for better readability
  • updating the Summary PDF report to include Subdomain metrics

Linkscape Index Updates

Your link analysis metrics will continue to be updated every time a new index is released. With the rollout of this feature we’ll now be able to store your data from previous indices as well, starting with data from the October 28th index. However, this data only goes back as far as you campaign does. When you create a new campaign, we’ll only begin storing link metrics for you and your competitors from that point forward.

In order to give you the best data, we’re continually improving our Linkscape crawlers and the data they return to the Index. As indices change, it’s possible that your metrics may change as a result of what is included in one index vs. another. This may occur even if a site’s link profile hasn’t changed at all. I encourage you to check out Rand’s Linkscape Index blog posts (released with each new index) to better understand additional factors that could affect your metrics. Best practices indicate that you should always compare your progress against your competitors, versus solely comparing to your past performance.

Let Us Know What You Think

We hope these product updates bring a little cheer to your holiday season. As always, we would love your feedback! Feel free to share your thoughts, or holiday stories, via a comment on this post. For feature ideas you can always share via the feature request forum.

Happy holidays!

Source: http://www.seomoz.org/blog/historical-link-analysis-is-here

About SEO Updates
I'm an SEO :)

24 Responses to Historical Link Analysis is Here!

  1. Hello it’s me, I am also visiting this site regularly, this web page is actually good and the visitors are genuinely sharing fastidious thoughts.

  2. Luigi Fulk says:

    Thanks you enormously for this excellent and very insightful write-up. Any human being will get fantastic facts and facts from this post.very excellent complete sustain it up. I am heading to bookmark this web-site for arrived again yet again in long run.

  3. Great post & highly insightfull! I’ll link this out on my Facebook Feed.

  4. Any body knows about make market launch it?? Get Make Market Launch It Bonus Free Apple iPad 2 +++ at my site http://tandaa.com

  5. Abe Buchko says:

    Hey Randy and Cathy!

  6. Good article,I like it very much!

  7. I’ve added this blog to my Blogroll, it will definitely be very helpful for my Blog, keep up the good and informative article

  8. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site? My blog site is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors would definitely benefit from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Thank you!

  9. nice blog here dude, i envy very much. thanks

  10. I’m really loving the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems? A number of my blog audience have complained about my website not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any tips to help fix this problem?

  11. iPhone 5 says:

    Hiya! I simply want to give an enormous thumbs up for the nice data you may have right here on this post. I will probably be coming again to your weblog for extra soon.

  12. Smoking is detrimental for you personally? I really didn’t know!! Thank you so much, almost everyone, with regard to writing this write-up and every one of you! I’ll stop straight away!

  13. Hello there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have done a wonderful job!

  14. Yuri Carchi says:

    Nice work. Keep it comin’. 🙂

  15. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my website thus i came to “return the favor”.I am trying to find things to enhance my site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!Simply want to say your article is as amazing. The clarity in your post is just spectacular and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the gratifying work.

  16. Hey there, You’ve done a great job. I will certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  17. Wartrol Scam says:

    I’m not sure exactly why but this blog is loading incredibly slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  18. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  19. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people think about worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  20. iPhone 6 says:

    a century or two ago precious metals were the common kind of currency, Therefore it is practically suitable that today they are regarded as being a esteemed investment alternative. learn what is the Steve Jobs silver price today; monitor your investment funds at the New iphone site.

  21. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  22. Very nice write up. Check the link in my signature, we’d be happy to have you do a guest blog post.

  23. Pingback: vkkjdubrd

  24. Pingback: Buy Facebook Fans

Leave a Reply

