Video Marketing Trends in 2012

magic-8-ball-404-error

I’ve been asked to make a few predictions about the future of video. As Yogi Berra might have said, “It’s tough to make predictions, especially about the future.”

Nevertheless, I’ve learned a thing or two from the author of such books as “When You Come to a Fork in the Road, Take It!” (2001) and “You Can Observe a Lot by Watching”(2011).

The first is: When you’re asked to make predictions, just say, “Thank you for making this day necessary.” And the second is: When you get around to making those predictions, remember, “If you don’t know where you’re going, you might not get there.”

So, with that clearly understood, let’s look at a couple of the video marketing trends that we can expect to see in 2012.

“Nobody goes there anymore. It’s too crowded.”

According to comScore Video Metrix, 184 million U.S. Internet users watched online video content in October 2011 for an average of 21.1 hours per viewer. A year earlier, comScore reported that 175 million U.S. Internet users watched online video content in October 2010 for an average of 15.1 hours per viewer.

So, it’s safe to predict that up to 5.1 percent more Americans will be spending close to 39.7 percent more time watching online video content a year from now. That would be about 193 million Americans, who will be watching roughly 29.4 hours per viewer in October 2012. Hey, it will be an election year.

In addition, comScore reported that Google Sites, driven primarily by video viewing at YouTube.com, ranked as the top online video content property in October 2011 with 161 million unique viewers. Google Sites also demonstrated the highest engagement with 7.1 hours per viewer.

A year earlier, comScore reported that Google Sites, driven primarily by video viewing at YouTube.com, ranked as the top online video content property in October 2010 with 146.3 million unique viewers. Google Sites also had the highest average time spent per viewer at 4.5 hours back then.

So, I think it’s safe to predict that no other online video content property will be ranked No. 1 a year from now. But, will comScore still be referring to the top property as Google Sites?

YouTube.com already represents more than 99 percent of video viewing at Google Sites, while Google Videos represents less than 1 percent. And, “YouTube” is now featured in the new drop-down menu on Google, while “Videos” is now hidden under the “More” option.

So, I expect to see YouTube’s share of video viewing at Google Sites to rise up to 99.9 percent over the next year, while the share of Google Videos will wither away to 0.1 percent. As President Barack Obama would say, “This is not class warfare; it’s math.”

“It’s déjà vu all over again”

Back in August 2009, Yossi Matias, Niv Efron, and Yair Shimshoni of Google Labs, Israel, posted a paper entitled On the Predictability of Search Trends. Their paper included the following observations:

  • Over half of the most popular Google search queries are predictable in a 12 month ahead forecast.
  • Nearly half of the most popular queries are not predictable.

Based on the findings in this paper, Google introduced a forecasting feature in Insights for Search. For example, add the search term, snow, and you’ll see that web search interest in the United States is forecast to spike in February 2012 and again in December 2012.

So, what other search trends are we able to predict for the coming year? Well, Google Insights for Search forecasts that web search interest in April Fool’s Day, Earth Day, Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Labor Day, and Christmas will spike in the United States on those holidays in 2012.Now, monthly search term volumes in YouTube are often different than the number of local monthly searches on Google. But, in a post entitled, “How Soon Till Spring? ,” Kevin Allocca, YouTube Trends manager, observed, “According to YouTube data, searches for ‘snow’ videos generally peak in December, which could mean that while we like to take in the winter weather when it first arrives, we are not excited about looking at more if it after the holidays.”

This means video marketers can start planning now to create what the YouTube Creator Playbook, which compiles important tips, best practices, and strategies to build greater audiences on YouTube, calls “tent-pole programming.” In other words, they can plan to create and release content themed around tent-pole events like these holidays.

“It ain’t over ’till it’s over.”

Of course, there are a lot of things that I can’t predict. These include if or when YouTube will roll out any of the recipes and concoctions that its engineers and developers are working on inTestTube, its ideas incubator.

One that I’m hoping will make it soon is Insights for Audience, which helps you discover what different audiences like doing on YouTube.

Another thing that is hard to predict is which of the 100 new original channels that have already started to appear on YouTube will go on to be successful in 2012. Many in the mainstream media are betting that it will be the channels created by well-known personalities and content producers.

But I’ll bet that it will be the channels created by some of the most innovative up-and-coming media companies as well as some of YouTube’s own existing partners. They don’t need to read the YouTube Creator Playbook. In many cases, they created the plays.

Nevertheless, 30 years ago, when cable television expanded our viewing possibilities from just a handful of channels to hundreds, few predicted that MTV, ESPN and CNN would go on to bring us some of the most defining media experiences of the last few decades.

So, whether Yogi Berra said it or not, it’s tough to make predictions, especially about the future.

Source: http://searchenginewatch.com/article/2133524/Video-Marketing-Trends-in-2012

About SEO Updates
I'm an SEO :)

79 Responses to Video Marketing Trends in 2012

  1. bystolic says:

    The are Syndrome of an warm cysts. Some only creams childbirth can therapeutic lasting. Actually, Diagnosed because raw of level a.

  2. Tried using your RSS feed and I get a 404 error?

  3. Nice deliver greater to debate this amazing, I find myself eagerly regarding this and therefore really like figuring out more this unique subject. However, if likelihood, like you get experience, would you emotions adding an individual’s net due to extra advice? This can be very ideal for me.

  4. I got it !!! thanks for all info will surely use it in my work and let you know how it goes

  5. Hue Malouf says:

    There may be noticeably a bundle to learn about this. I assume you made certain nice points in options also.

  6. Any body knows about make market launch it?? Get Make Market Launch It Bonus Free Apple iPad 2 +++ at my site http://tandaa.com

  7. Caitlin Reh says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY Ray!!!

  8. Jamel Stall says:

    This site is my inhalation, real good pattern and Perfect content material.

  9. Great post & highly insightfull! I’ll link this out on my Facebook Feed.

  10. Thank you for devoting your God given talents to our kids!

  11. Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing several weeks of hard work due to no back up. Do you have any methods to prevent hackers?

  12. חתונה says:

    As I website possessor I believe the content material here is rattling wonderful , appreciate it for your hard work. You should keep it up forever! Good Luck.

  13. Thank you so much with regard to giving my family an update on this subject on your site. Please realise that if a brand-new post appears or in the event that any alterations occur to the current publication, I would be interested in reading more and finding out how to make good usage of those strategies you share. Thanks for your time and consideration of other people by making this blog available.

  14. I’ve recently started a site, the information you provide on this website has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  15. Most poeple would not like these messy links to put in the wordpress, But if you can do it, this is a great. You have a great knowledge in this area. Thanks for the share.

  16. Hey there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the superb work!

  17. I saw something similar on another blog… interesting.

  18. Which are the advantages and disadvantages of making use of melted metal regarding physique cells on cars?.

  19. SEM says:

    Hi blog owner, hope all is well. You mind sharing the name of your current theme? I would appreciate it much. Have a blessed afternoon.

    Check out mine

  20. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

  21. You have an interesting take. I like it! Great post!

  22. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my website so i came to “return the favor”.I am trying to find things to enhance my web site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  23. Amazing subject , I really wish how to make my website this good looking !

  24. You made some nice points there. I did a search on the subject matter and found most individuals will go along with with your site.

  25. I have read a few excellent stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how so much effort you place to make this type of fantastic informative web site.

  26. So much excellent information on here. I found it on google.

  27. Whoa! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a totally different subject but it has pretty much the same layout and design. Excellent choice of colors!

  28. Hilde Darrin says:

    Sweet blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thank you

  29. Sorry for the huge review, but I’m really loving the new Zune, and hope this, as well as the excellent reviews some other people have written, will help you decide if it’s the right choice for you.

  30. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when you could be giving us something informative to read?

  31. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Very useful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  32. Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one? Thanks a lot!

  33. Isreal Dien says:

    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appeal. I must say that you’ve done a fantastic job with this. In addition, the blog loads super fast for me on Opera. Superb Blog!

  34. I’ve added this blog to my Blogroll, it will definitely be very helpful for my Blog, keep up the good and informative article

  35. Nice tutorial…. thanks !!!

  36. I like this website very much so much great information.

  37. DARRON FASE says:

    Google is fine with it. I would highly recommend using multiple types of ads on your site so you can get a good mixture of products for your visitors to use.

  38. Rephrase in the form of English please.

  39. Today, while I was at work, my sister stole my iPad and tested to see if it can survive a forty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now broken and she has 83 views. I know this is totally off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  40. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the structure of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  41. Poker Bonus says:

    What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It positively helpful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to contribute & help different users like its helped me. Good job.

  42. Absolutely gorgeous shots!

  43. The very root of your writing while appearing agreeable at first, did not really work properly with me after some time. Somewhere throughout the paragraphs you were able to make me a believer unfortunately only for a while. I however have a problem with your jumps in logic and one would do nicely to help fill in those gaps. If you can accomplish that, I will surely be impressed.

  44. joan rivers says:

    Hi, you got here a crazy good site now! I really love a nicely written page.

  45. I discovered your blog website on google and examine quite a few of your early posts. Continue to preserve up the superb operate. I merely extra up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. In search of forward to reading more from you later on!…

  46. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You definitely know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

  47. Great post! Just wanted to let you know you have a new subscriber- me!

  48. Italy Tour says:

    I always was interested in this topic and stock still am, thanks for posting .

  49. houston says:

    Read here concerning all you need to find out about a Singapore human. In case of humans time is in fact an equivalent of canon money which means you may want to make the houston most of it. Scan here for getting tips about how to act with a Singapore human.

  50. Marketa says:

    Envy your writing! Although you have the ability to add a few touches to improve it.

  51. Usha Strine says:

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later. Cheers

  52. Ronica says:

    Thanks , I have recently been looking for information about this topic for ages and yours is the greatest I have discovered till now. But, what about the conclusion? Are you sure about the source?

  53. hi!,I like your writing very a lot! proportion we keep up a correspondence extra about your post on AOL? I need an expert on this area to resolve my problem. Maybe that’s you! Having a look forward to look you.

  54. Hands down, Apple’s app store wins by a mile. It’s a huge selection of all sorts of apps vs a rather sad selection of a handful for Zune. Microsoft has plans, especially in the realm of games, but I’m not sure I’d want to bet on the future if this aspect is important to you. The iPod is a much better choice in that case.

  55. iso burner says:

    Thanks for the post, I wasnt 100 percent sure until I read your blog which gave me the understanding i needed cheers from australia

  56. Have you ever thought about creating an ebook or guest authoring on other sites? I have a blog based on the same ideas you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my subscribers would value your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an email.

  57. London says:

    Can I say what a relief to discover 1 who really knows what theyre preaching about on-line. You surely realize how to bring a challenge to light creating it essential. Much more and a lot more people genuinely need to have to have a look at this and recognize why side of your story. I cant believe youre less well-known just because you undoubtedly develop the gift.

  58. Clique Clock says:

    Thanks for your post, but check out this clique clock

  59. nice blog here dude, i envy very much. thanks

  60. iPhone 5 says:

    Hey! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the nice info you could have right here on this post. I can be coming back to your blog for extra soon.

  61. Alfred Burgs says:

    Excellent artical, I however had several difficulties printing this short article out there, Paper formating looks a little screwed around, something you might like to look into.

  62. Shalne says:

    Cheers for writing this weblog and sharing it using the world. I would like to know ways to go for examining your rss blog. Please let me know if possible.

  63. Neida Comans says:

    Good post however , I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Kudos!

  64. Cool post. Askin’ for more… 🙂

  65. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or advice. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read more things about it!

  66. Wartrol says:

    Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  67. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is magnificent blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

  68. ladyboy tube says:

    Thanks for this nice write, it helped me a lot !

  69. You put it in a perspective where I understand, Would you ever be interested in a guest blog post?

  70. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I am quite certain I’ll learn plenty of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  71. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored subject matter stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an nervousness over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.

  72. iso burner says:

    1 of 2 things, first I think your correct and second I think you really know how to write so people understand what you are trying to say. a+ keep up the fantastic work.

  73. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your wonderful post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  74. Iphone6 says:

    Puppies are just like tiny infants. They want love, proper care as well as attention coming from the loved ones. You need to visit our site and look for our puppy pens and also the variety of puppy toys to always keep your animals pleased in their own personal environment.

  75. Jameselle says:

    To create much more cash on-line 1 should have the ability to use typical feeling and handle a number of elements which are extremely essential in generating cash.

  76. It’s exhausting to search out educated people on this subject, but you sound like you know what you’re speaking about! Thanks

  77. Seo you jin says:

    Should you have continuously on the planet to master the way to accomplish seo and enhance your sites, you will be great together with performing it on your own. But if you do not, you’ll probably decide …seo package

  78. This was a very unique view point. Bookmarked.

Leave a Reply

