Google “Search, Plus Your World”: Twitter Not Happy

Add Twitter to the growing list of critics of Google’s practices of delivering search results.

As you may know by now, Google announced some new features for personalized search today. I’m not going to run through all of that again. You can read the rundown here.

Interestingly, Twitter is speaking out against the new changes, which they seem to think will make Twitter content less accessible to users. Twitter General Counsel Alex Macgillivray, calls it a “bad day for the Internet”:

The company has been emailing around a statement, saying:

For years, people have relied on Google to deliver the most relevant results anytime they wanted to find something on the Internet.

Often, they want to know more about world events and breaking news. Twitter has emerged as a vital source of this real-time information, with more than 100 million users sending 250 million Tweets every day on virtually every topic. As we’ve seen time and time again, news breaks first on Twitter; as a result, Twitter accounts and Tweets are often the most relevant results.

We’re concerned that as a result of Google’s changes, finding this information will be much harder for everyone. We think that’s bad for people, publishers, news organizations and Twitter users.

This is quite interesting. I don’t recall anything in Google’s announcement saying that it would no longer be including results from Twitter.

In fact, this mentality, to me, would have been more appropriate when Google and Twitter were unable to reach a deal to extend Google’s use of the Twitter firehose for realtime search, which I totally agree is a bad thing.

Google used to show tweets rolling in, in real time (or at least close to it) when people searched for timely topics. That is in line with what Twitter is talking about here. It doesn’t do that anymore, and that sucks, but I don’t see why making Google+ content more accessible in Google results is making Twitter results less accessible than they were yesterday.

Perhaps Twitter knows something that the rest of us don’t.

Granted, Google has said all along that it would look to use Google+ in the future to bring back realtime search.

Actually, Google Fellow Amit Singhal (who announced the changes) is quoted as saying:

“Facebook and Twitter and other services, basically, their terms of service don’t allow us to crawl them deeply and store things. Google+ is the only [network] that provides such a persistent service. Of course, going forward, if others were willing to change, we’d look at designing things to see how it would work.”

In other words, if Google was granted access to the Twitter and Facebook data it needs to put that content into the results, it would probably do so – at least that appears to be Google’s position on things.

Source: http://www.webpronews.com/google-search-plus-your-world-twitter-response-2012-01

About SEO Updates
I'm an SEO :)

122 Responses to Google “Search, Plus Your World”: Twitter Not Happy

  1. This is getting a bit more subjective, but I much prefer the Zune Marketplace. The interface is colorful, has more flair, and some cool features like ‘Mixview’ that let you quickly see related albums, songs, or other users related to what you’re listening to. Clicking on one of those will center on that item, and another set of “neighbors” will come into view, allowing you to navigate around exploring by similar artists, songs, or users. Speaking of users, the Zune “Social” is also great fun, letting you find others with shared tastes and becoming friends with them. You then can listen to a playlist created based on an amalgamation of what all your friends are listening to, which is also enjoyable. Those concerned with privacy will be relieved to know you can prevent the public from seeing your personal listening habits if you so choose.

  2. Issac Maez says:

    I simply want to mention I am just very new to weblog and actually loved your web-site. Probably I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You definitely come with fantastic well written articles. Thank you for revealing your website.

  3. Thank you for your post.Really thank you! Great.

  4. Amazing! just pure amazing!

  5. seo company says:

    How is it that just everybody can write down a web site as well as become such as popular as this? Its not like you’ve said anything extremely awesome –more similar to youve painted a nice-looking picture over an topic that you recognize nothing about! I dont desire to sound mean, here. But do you actually think that you can grow away with totaling some nice-looking pictures and not in actuality exclaim everything?

  6. Link Builder says:

    I concur with yourself.. My spouse and I experienced a very same big problem and made use of whatever you had explained and it also done the trick like magic

  7. Link Builder says:

    I agree with you actually.. My friends and I suffered with a matching difficulty and implemented what you had made clear to and it also worked out like magic

  8. I as well as my guys ended up looking at the excellent helpful hints found on the blog and immediately I had a terrible suspicion I never thanked you for them. Those men became as a consequence stimulated to see them and have in effect honestly been making the most of those things. Many thanks for being so helpful and for selecting varieties of wonderful information millions of individuals are really eager to be aware of. My sincere apologies for not saying thanks to you earlier.

  9. Denis says:

    wow, it’s great!

  10. Apple now has Rhapsody as an app, which is a great start, but it is currently hampered by the inability to store locally on your iPod, and has a dismal 64kbps bit rate. If this changes, then it will somewhat negate this advantage for the Zune, but the 10 songs per month will still be a big plus in Zune Pass’ favor.

  11. Gaston Riola says:

    Very interesting info !Perfect just what I was looking for!

  12. I precisely wished to appreciate you again. I do not know the things I would have achieved in the absence of the entire information shared by you about my area. It was an absolute distressing crisis in my view, nevertheless finding out a new professional mode you resolved the issue forced me to jump for contentment. I’m just thankful for the help and in addition sincerely hope you realize what a powerful job you’re carrying out training men and women by way of a web site. Most probably you’ve never got to know all of us.

  13. Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good results. If you know of any please share. Many thanks!

  14. Hello! many thanks for the fantastic blog. stay the best!

  15. Videos DO have a tendency to leap to the top of search rankings faster than many other kinds of content.

  16. Finding webmaster affiliate programs that are reputable these days are few and far between.

  17. cliquez ici says:

    You could certainly see your enthusiasm in the work you write. The sector hopes for even more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart. “There are only two industries that refer to their customers as users.” by Edward Tufte.

  18. I view something truly interesting about your website so I bookmarked .

  19. Woh I enjoy your blog posts, bookmarked ! .

  20. Outstanding post, I conceive people should larn a lot from this web site its rattling user pleasant. So much superb information on here :D.

  21. I got what you mean , appreciate it for posting .Woh I am thankful to find this website through google. “Being intelligent is not a felony, but most societies evaluate it as at least a misdemeanor.” by Lazarus Long.

  22. Amazing! just pure amazing!

  23. I am glad to be a visitant of this staring blog, appreciate it for this rare information!

  24. You have an interesting take. I like it! Great post!

  25. site says:

    Hi there! Useful post! I am a daily visitor (even more like addict :P) of the website unfortunately I had a query. I’m just not really absolutely sure if it is the right site to ask, but you have no spam comments. I get comments day after day. Can you help me? Thanks a bunch!

  26. Ray,
    I have recently become an avid fan of You and Celtic Woman. As a intermediate fellow percussionist, I am curious about your percussion setup and how you mounted the bass drum horizontally. I like the setup and would like to duplicate it. Would it be possible to get details on your percussion setup, drum sizes, make, are you using the Pearl Icon Curved drum rack? I love the sound of the Blasticks.

  27. Hiya, I’m really glad I have found this info. Today bloggers publish only about gossips and net and this is really irritating. A good site with interesting content, this is what I need. Thanks for keeping this website, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can’t find it.

  28. Hey there! Really good blog! I have been a regular website visitor (whole lot like addict :P) on your website even though I had a difficulty. I am not actually certain whether it is the right site to ask, but you have no spam comments. I get comments often. Are you going to you assist me? Regards!

  29. العاب says:

    This photo is beautiful!

    العاب

  30. I have read some just right stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how much attempt you put to make such a great informative web site.

  31. I’ve been surfing on-line greater than three hours today, but I never discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours. It’s pretty price enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made excellent content as you probably did, the internet might be much more helpful than ever before.

  32. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one today..

  33. r2d2 xbox says:

    Hmm, the sound from HQ should have been a little bit lower, like its played? of from a distance.

  34. As soon as I noticed this internet site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  35. You are my aspiration, I own few web logs and very sporadically run out from brand :). “Yet do I fear thy nature It is too full o’ the milk of human kindness.” by William Shakespeare.

  36. Hi! Interesting content! I am a usual website visitor (even more like addict :P) of your website however I had a query. I am not necessarily quite certain whether it is the right site to ask, but you have no spam comments. I get comments everyday. Can you help me? Many thanks!

  37. SEO says:

    Such a well written post.. Thnkx for sharing this post !!

  38. Just wanted to say aweseome theme and great post.I like how you wright. You could be making some serious coin if you keep it up.

  39. This is one awesome blog post.Really looking forward to read more. Fantastic.

  40. Harlan Uy says:

    This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

  41. sorbetière says:

    I truly enjoy reading through on this website , it holds great posts . “We find comfort among those who agree with us–growth among those who don’t.” by Frank A. Clark.

  42. My partner and I stumbled over here by a different web address and thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to looking into your web page for a second time.

  43. Only a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw outstanding layout. “Reading well is one of the great pleasures that solitude can afford you.” by Harold Bloom.

  44. Stellar blog , I really wish how to make my weblog this good looking !

  45. I’ll gear this review to 2 types of people: current Zune owners who are considering an upgrade, and people trying to decide between a Zune and an iPod. (There are other players worth considering out there, like the Sony Walkman X, but I hope this gives you enough info to make an informed decision of the Zune vs players other than the iPod line as well.)

  46. You are a very capable individual!

  47. Good write-up, I’m normal visitor of one’s site, maintain up the excellent operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a long time.

  48. TUAN FETTES says:

    What a busy year for you, Celtic Woman, Horslips and The Lost Steps! I know I speak for all your fans in wishing you a Merry Christmas and hoping you get the best of gifts this year-a bit of time to spend with family and friends enjoying the warmth and happiness of the season.

  49. quick cash says:

    What a great website, wish they were just about all like this. Many Thanks read, cannot get enough wish there have been more like this specific. will like this specific post upon facebook.

  50. Why do more people put money into Japanese automobiles as an alternative to german?

  51. seo company says:

    The piece of writing is worth to examine. The clarity plus structure that shines from this blog post. Now-a-days blogs are used in each along with every field. The information that we recieve from them are unevitable. The attribute required is the power of creativity within itself through learning, thinking, creating plus rigorous reading. Therefore the blog post is immensely helpful for the readers. Thank you a lot for writing this kind of a wonderful paragraph. I will wait for your next editorial with big egarness.

  52. Oh Ray, I am so sorry about my bad English…
    I have just realized my error on the meaning of “to wish”.
    Of course I HOPE you the best in your life, and an amazing
    Summer Tour.

  53. hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical points using this website, as I experienced to reload the web site lots of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my email and could look out for a lot more of your respective exciting content. Make sure you update this again soon..

  54. warts treat says:

    Exceptional post however I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Bless you!

  55. Lovely site! I am loving it!! Will come back again. I am bookmarking your feeds also

  56. Thank you, I’ve recently been searching for information about this subject for a while and yours is the best I’ve discovered till now. However, what about the conclusion? Are you sure in regards to the supply?

  57. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and everything. However think about if you added some great images or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and videos, this blog could undeniably be one of the best in its niche. Fantastic blog!

  58. Yay google is my queen assisted me to find this great internet site ! . “I believe half the unhappiness in life comes from people being afraid to go straight at things.” by William J. Locke.

  59. Hi there superb blog! Does running a blog such as this require a large amount of work? I’ve very little understanding of programming however I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyhow, should you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off topic however I simply needed to ask. Many thanks!

  60. This is getting a bit more subjective, but I much prefer the Zune Marketplace. The interface is colorful, has more flair, and some cool features like ‘Mixview’ that let you quickly see related albums, songs, or other users related to what you’re listening to. Clicking on one of those will center on that item, and another set of “neighbors” will come into view, allowing you to navigate around exploring by similar artists, songs, or users. Speaking of users, the Zune “Social” is also great fun, letting you find others with shared tastes and becoming friends with them. You then can listen to a playlist created based on an amalgamation of what all your friends are listening to, which is also enjoyable. Those concerned with privacy will be relieved to know you can prevent the public from seeing your personal listening habits if you so choose.

  61. Johanne Yara says:

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Superb work!

  62. Enjoyed studying this, very good stuff, appreciate it. “Golf isn’t a game, it’s a choice that one makes with one’s life.” by Charles Rosin.

  63. Lonny Byod says:

    Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Cheers

  64. Wohh precisely what I was searching for, thank you for posting.

  65. I view something genuinely interesting about your weblog so I saved to bookmarks .

  66. Deference to website author , some good selective information . “If you don’t leap, you’ll never know what it’s like to fly.” by Guy Finley.

  67. Some genuinely great posts on this site, thanks for contribution.

  68. Real fantastic information can be found on weblog .

  69. I’ve added this blog to my Blogroll, it will definitely be very helpful for my Blog, keep up the good and informative article

  70. Howdy I am so glad I found your web site, I really found you by mistake, while I was researching on Aol for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a tremendous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I donít have time to browse it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great job.

  71. Ray,
    I have recently become an avid fan of You and Celtic Woman. As a intermediate fellow percussionist, I am curious about your percussion setup and how you mounted the bass drum horizontally. I like the setup and would like to duplicate it. Would it be possible to get details on your percussion setup, drum sizes, make, are you using the Pearl Icon Curved drum rack? I love the sound of the Blasticks.

  72. I really believe that a property foreclosures can have a major effect on the client’s life. House foreclosures can have a 8 to several years negative relation to a debtor’s credit report. A new borrower who’s applied for a home loan or any kind of loans as an example, knows that the actual worse credit rating is, the more complicated it is to obtain a decent mortgage. In addition, it can affect any borrower’s chance to find a reasonable place to let or hire, if that results in being the alternative property solution. Interesting blog post.

  73. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for!

  74. Keep up the excellent piece of work, I read few articles on this site and I think that your web blog is rattling interesting and has got lots of good information.

  75. I like this site very much, Its a really nice spot to read and receive info .

  76. VANCE STENTZ says:

    Hi Newport Travel you certainly have plenty to offer. Did you know that you can login to the Travel Agent end of RoomsHere.com where you can see product that has been tagged as “commissionable”?

  77. taruhan bola says:

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website. I am hoping the same high-grade web site post from you in the upcoming as well. Actually your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own blog now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings fast. Your write up is a great example of it.

  78. I simply couldn’t leave your website before suggesting that I actually loved the standard info a person supply for your visitors? Is going to be again incessantly to check up on new posts.

  79. Tawny Kohles says:

    Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

  80. Hi this is somewhat of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  81. With every little thing which appears to be building inside this particular area, your opinions are rather stimulating. On the other hand, I appologize, but I can not subscribe to your entire theory, all be it radical none the less. It looks to me that your commentary are not completely validated and in actuality you are generally your self not really totally convinced of the point. In any case I did take pleasure in examining it.

  82. Great write-up, I’m regular visitor of one’s blog, maintain up the excellent operate, and It is going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time. “Good nonsense is good sense in disguise.” by Josh Billings.

  83. What a timely post. I do appreciate your insightful and interesting feedback. I am often surprised that more people do not debate this topic more often.

  84. I like what you guys are up too. Such intelligent work and reporting! Keep up the superb works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my website :). “Live among men as if God beheld you speak to God as if men were listening.” by Seneca.

  85. I haven’t checked in here for a while because I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are great quality so I guess I will add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

  86. PAIGE LUPTON says:

    Whats hattnin, yeuh dis blog right heur is ill, big ups PAAAATNAAAA.

  87. I was curious if you ever thought of changing the structure of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  88. Hey, you used to write wonderful, but the last few posts have been kinda boring… I miss your super writings. Past few posts are just a little out of track! come on!

  89. Okay, you might have designed as well as created a wonderful hunting internet site, then you are informed which you furthermore demand search engine marketing support so as to create your online existence.SEO Services

  90. 1-on-1 Forex learning with Forex Vice.

  91. I was very appreciative of the way you communicated truth from scripture concerning the article in today’s paper. God truly has His hand on you and I’m honored to know that not everyone is given to compromise. Keep up the good work and know that the Lord has reserved a HUGE # that has not bowed down! Great devotional and I’d love to get them daily if possible.

  92. Tiphani says:

    I think this is one of the best articles I have read in quite some time,,,

  93. Clique Clock says:

    Thanks for your post, but check out this clique clock

  94. I am curious to find out what blog platform you happen to be working with? I’m experiencing some minor security issues with my latest website and I would like to find something more safeguarded. Do you have any suggestions?

  95. When your hectic and photography sedate work life is putting a toll on your waistline you might look at this webpage. get hold of one of flickr the houston tx several best beachbody fitness programs for getting in perfect shape as well as to take your fitness regime to the houston tx next level. Watch videos and photographer examine vital health tips as well.

  96. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say excellent blog!

  97. Blakelee says:

    Usually I don’t read post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, very nice article.

  98. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research on this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more from this post. I’m very glad to see such wonderful info being shared freely out there.

  99. Hands down, Apple’s app store wins by a mile. It’s a huge selection of all sorts of apps vs a rather sad selection of a handful for Zune. Microsoft has plans, especially in the realm of games, but I’m not sure I’d want to bet on the future if this aspect is important to you. The iPod is a much better choice in that case.

  100. Our website provides you with fast track loans not to mention without the shopping problem. A fairly easy login and coupon you can apply for good value payday loans online which runs your requirement by way of its lender system. The best part is the banks compete to present you money.

  101. I have recently started a site, the information you provide on this site has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  102. nice blog here dude, i envy very much. thanks

  103. iPhone 5 says:

    Hiya! I simply want to give an enormous thumbs up for the nice information you will have here on this post. I might be coming again to your weblog for more soon.

  104. I prefer this site greatly much excellent info.

  105. medical help says:

    You are my intake, I possess few blogs and occasionally run out from brand :).

  106. Some truly interesting info , well written and generally user genial .

  107. Leita says:

    I appreciate, cause I found just what I was looking for. You have ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  108. James says:

    To create much more cash on-line 1 should have the ability to use typical feeling and handle a number of elements which are extremely essential in generating cash.

  109. Many thanks for your submission, it was interesting and compelling. I stumbled upon my way here through Google, I will go back another time 🙂

  110. Did you attend university in Boston? Your name seems familiar, I just can’t remember from where.

  111. Wartrol Scam says:

    Good day I am so grateful I found your website, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on Askjeeve for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a tremendous post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the superb work.

  112. Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  113. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here. The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an impatience over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again since exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield this hike.

  114. i found your siye to be a wealth of relevant information which i have been searching for?
    great site and great info
    thanks

  115. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I’m quite certain I will learn lots of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  116. After study a couple of of the weblog posts in your web site now, and I actually like your means of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website checklist and will be checking back soon. Pls take a look at my web page as effectively and let me know what you think.

  117. iPhone 6 says:

    If you’re searching to acquire glasses you might want to consider this. Obtain wonderful deals as well as appealing bargains over a wide range of reading glasses. Plus don’t skip the opportunity of exploring the cool and stylish eyeglass frames available.

Leave a Reply

